• Home
  • >
  • Lifestyle
  • >
  • The Different Types of Forklift Certifications

The Different Types of Forklift Certifications

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Within different aspects of the workforce, you will encounter several types of forklifts that all perform specific jobs and follow certain guidelines. The different classifications are all broken up into specialty positions that apply to different tasks they are designed to complete. Once trained on the different types of forklift certifications, you can work anywhere that requires forklift operations.

Class I

This classification primarily focuses on electric operators. When in operation, the driver can sit or stand, as the battery acts as a counterweight. These electric trucks are mainly used in warehouse operations, and training allows you to understand how pneumatic tires work, how to remain fuel-efficient, and how to operate smoothly. Additionally, these are some of the quieter forklifts of the bunch.

Class II

This certification allows the operator to understand what it means to work in compact spaces. This certification also helps by training operators on how to use attachments for specialty jobs such as order picking, reach trucks, side loading, all of which are built for fast-paced operations.

Class III

This certification is specifically designed for the movement of low lifting operations. For heavier loads that do not require extreme lifting and only necessitate transportation, you can easily move from one end of the warehouse to another with these forklifts and this certification.

Class IV

When you complete training for this certification, you will understand more about internal combustion engines and how you can move and lift loads quickly and efficiently. You will also learn when to clear from docking to storage properly.

Class V

This is one of the best certifications to get, as it covers inside and outside the warehouse production. You can do most jobs with this training dealing with forklifts, as it is a standard among warehouse choices.

Class VI

This classification comes as no surprise, as its operations are primarily airport-driven. These forklifts are designed for pulling only, which is why you see them hauling luggage before and after flights in the airport.

Class VII

This final certification is one that is specific to rough terrain. You can see forklift operators of this variety in lumberyards and auto recyclers. Most of these forklifts are equipped with four-wheel drive, so you will also require training on how to drive with four-wheel drive.

There are several different types of certifications you can get for forklift driving, all of which have different and specific jobs that carry separate job scopes. And because of this, there are different types of forklift certifications that apply to specialty jobs. If this sounds like something you are interested in, you might want to investigate it, as this job is one that is found worldwide.

Related Posts

Serving Lake County and the Reelfoot Lake Area since 1923
Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2022